County Home|ADA|Roads|News Releases|Organizational Chart|Index of Services|Volunteer Boards|About El Paso County|Contact Us
Board of County Commissioners
Commissioner, District 3
Sallie Clark

Commissioner District 2 Sallie Clark

Sallie Clark serves District 3 on the Board of County Commissioners. During her tenure, she has served as Board Chair and Vice Chair. Her district encompasses central and western El Paso County, including the Town of Green Mountain Falls, the City of Manitou Springs, the Town of Palmer Lake, the Westside and downtown areas of Colorado Springs, and unincorporated areas within District 3 including Ute Pass. Commissioner Clark serves as a Board liaison to the Coroner and Sheriff.
Commissioner Clark has owned a small-business since 1986. In addition to her past service as a member of the Colorado Springs City Council, she is active on various local, state and national organizations in leadership roles. She is a military wife and has been married to her husband, Welling, for 35-plus years.
Among her professional achievements, Clark received the “Woman of Distinction Award” from Soroptimist International, was named one of the Denver Post’s “People to Watch” and has been awarded the “Best Civic Leader,” “Best Role Model” and “Best County Commissioner” from the Colorado Springs Independent.  She is a recipient of the Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau’s “Tourism Industry Award,” was named one of the Colorado Springs Business Journal’s “Women of Influence,”  received the Southern Colorado Women’s Chamber “Accolades Award,” the American Heart Association’s “Woman of Distinction Award,” Aspen Pointe's  “Heroes of Mental Health Award”, the Greater Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce “Elected Official of the Year”, the El Paso County Republicans' “Republican of the Year Award” , the “Arts and Business Education Award” for her artwork initiative with School District 11, and Hope and Home's “Woodsum-Daniel” Award her efforts to prevent child abuse in the community.
She is the first Colorado commissioner elected as President of National Association of Counties (NACo) and has been an active member of various NACo committees including Justice and Public Safety, the Large Urban County Caucus, the Arts & Culture Commission, the Cybersecurity Task Force,  and Veterans & Military Affairs, among others.  She is past chair of the Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments and Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority where she has focused on collaboration regarding regional transportation priorities, military growth plans and Area on Aging services, among others. She is active in a wide variety of community and neighborhood issues as well as with Colorado Counties, Inc., the only organization representing county government issues at the state level. 
Liaison to: El Paso County Sheriff, Coroner, Department of Human Services Advisory Committee, Citizen Outreach Group, Peak Vista Community Health Centers, El Paso County Public Health, Pikes Peak Library District and Parks Board, among others.  

 Local Leadership Positions:

  •  Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments
  • El Paso County Emergency Services Agency
  • El Paso County Public Health Board
  • Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority
  • City-County Arts Commission
  • Waldo Canyon Fire Recovery Group Co-Chair
  • Not One More Child Initiative Co-chair for child abuse prevention

 State Leadership Positions:

  • State of Colorado Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice
  • State of Colorado Child Welfare Allocation Committee
  • Past Vice Chair – Colorado Counties, Inc. (CCI) Health & Human Services Committee 
  • Front Range Roundtable Executive Committee on Forest Health and Wildfire Mitigation

 National Leadership Positions:

  • National Association of Counties (NACo) President
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Board of Directors
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Justice and Public Safety Committee
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Large Urban County Caucus
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Arts and Culture Commission
  • National Association of Counties (NACo) Membership Committee


Commissioner Sallie Clark can be reached at:

200 South Cascade Avenue, Suite 100, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-2202

Phone: (719) 520-6413

Fax: (719) 520-6397


District 3 Map: New Districts set in 2015

El Paso County Road Projects