County Home|ADA|Roads|News Releases|Organizational Chart|Index of Services|Volunteer Boards|About El Paso County|Contact Us
Board of County Commissioners
Commissioner, District 4
Dennis Hisey, Chair

Dennis Hisey

Having lived in El Paso County over 30 years the Hisey family now includes his wife Kathy, five children and 10 grandchildren. Dennis’ great grandfather settled in Mesa County Colorado in the late 1800s; his grandfather and father were both born in Mesa County and Dennis, returning to his roots, brought his family back to Colorado in 1983.

Commissioner Hisey’s business background includes retail, manufacturing, transportation and home repair. Before his 2004 Election, Dennis was an active volunteer for the County — graduating from the El Paso County Sheriff’s Citizen Academy and serving on the County Planning Commission. As a commissioner he completed the FEMA-sponsored Integrated Emergency Management course at their training center in Maryland.

Elected to his first term in 2005 Hisey was named “Freshman Commissioner of the Year” at the annual Colorado Counties, Inc. (CCI) convention and was elected to the CCI Board in 2008. Dennis also serves on the National Association of Counties’ Energy, Environment and Land Use Committee.

Dennis is the county representative on the Fountain Creek Watershed Flood Control and Greenway District, Pikes Peak Workforce Executive Board and the Regional Building Department Board. He serves on numerous other boards and committees — including the Pikes Peak Rural Transportation Authority and Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments.

Dennis has again been elected by his peers to serve as Chairman of the BoCC for 2013. During his previous tenure as chair departments were combined and the organization streamlined for greater efficiency resulting in Standard and Poors raising the county’s credit rating to its highest level.

Dennis’ community accomplishments include expansion of the Fort Carson Buffer Zone, re-opening Willow Springs Pond, establishment of a railroad quiet zone, neighborhood clean-ups, wildfire protection plans and the addition of parks and open space in the county. 

Dennis Hisey
El Paso County Commissioner

Commissioner Hisey can be reached at:

200 South Cascade Avenue, Suite 100, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-2202

Phone: (719) 520-6414

Fax: (719) 520-6397


District 4 Map

Regional Floodplain Management

El Paso County Road Projects